Tuesday, April 3, 2012

20 Elected Officials Join Me in Demanding an Investigation at Brooklyn College

There Is No Room for Racism in NYC Let Alone a City-Funded University!
I have been joined by 20 New York City elected officials in calling for an immediate, independent investigation into numerous accusations of racism and gender discrimination at Brooklyn College. Numerous staff members and faculty at the college have emerged with claims that Provost William A. Tramontano prevented Jewish female faculty candidates from being hired despite the highest recommendations from Brooklyn College Appointment Committees, and that promotions were denied to others by Tramontano because of race and gender.

Most faculty and staff who spoke to me were afraid to go public, fearing recriminations by Provost Tramontano, but several high-level individuals have spoken up, to their credit. These individuals attest to frequent acts of antisemitism and discrimination, especially against Jewish women.

My colleagues and I are outraged that Dr. Matthew Goldstein, Chancellor of CUNY, has allowed this to occur but we will not stand idly by while it continues.

A letter sent this morning to CUNY Chancellor Mathew Goldstein from the Assemblyman and his colleagues states: “As elected officials representing a diverse constituency throughout New York City—perhaps the most diverse City in America—we are shocked that this outrage has been allowed to continue. Numerous accusations have been voiced regarding Provost Tramontano’s racial, anti-female and blatantly illegal actions, yet there has remained a lack of a cogent, meaningful response from your office. In light of this, we demand an immediate and thorough investigation by an independent group into these accusations.”

The letter is signed by my colleagues:

Assemblyman Peter Abbate
Assemblyman Alec Brook-Krasny
Assemblyman William Colton
Assemblyman Steven Cymbrowitz
Assemblyman Phil Goldfeder
Assemblyman Andrew Hevesi
Assemblywoman Rhoda Jacobs
Assemblyman Rory Lancman
Assemblyman Vito Lopez
Assemblywoman Grace Meng
Assemblyman Nick Perry
Assemblyman Michael Simanowitz
Assemblywoman Helene Weinstein
Senator Jeff Klein
Senator Diane Savino
Senator John L. Sampson
Senator Malcolm Smith
Councilman Mathieu Eugene
Councilman Brad Lander
Councilman Domenic Recchia

No comments:

Post a Comment